skip navigation

2018 Top Ten Ms Hockey Semifinalists Announced

By LPH, 02/01/18, 12:30PM CST


Minnesota Ms. Hockey Award 10 semifinalists announced


Let’s Play Hockey announced today the 10 semifinalists for the 2018 Ms. Hockey Award, which will be presented to the top senior girls’ high school hockey player in Minnesota.


In alphabetical order, here are this year’s 10 semifinalists (statistics through games of Jan. 31):


Semifinalist             Pos.     School/Team                 GP       G      A       TP                              College

Madison Bizal          D          Elk River/Zimmerman    23        9       12     21                              Ohio State

Abigail Boreen         F          Hill-Murray                    24        22     31     53                              Minnesota

Claire Butorac         F          Andover                        24        29     33     62                              Minnesota State

Lolita Fidler             F          Edina                            23        20     32     52                              Harvard

Taylor Heise            F          Red Wing                      22        52     19     71                              Minnesota

Crystalyn Hengler    D          Eden Prairie                  24        14     15     29                              Minnesota

Gabbie Hughes       F          Centennial                    23        36     31     67                              Minnesota Duluth

Annke Linser           F          Centennial                    24        25     38     63                              Minnesota Duluth

Emily Oden             F          Edina                            23        23     22     45                              Minnesota

Catie Skaja             F          New Prague                  22        35     25     60                              Minnesota


All 10 players named as semifinalists are committed to a Division I school for next season, including nine in the WCHA. The semifinalists have scored an average of 27 goals and 26 assists this season for their respective teams. All 10 players have been bound to the textbooks for the past several years as they check in with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.50.


The five finalists for the Ms. Hockey Award will be named in the Feb. 15 edition of Let’s Play Hockey with the winner announced at the Ms. Hockey Awards Banquet on Sunday, Feb. 25, at 9:30 a.m., at the St. Paul RiverCentre. The 10 semifinalists for the Let’s Play Hockey Senior Goalie of the Year Award were also announced today. The five finalists for the Senior Goalie of the Year Award will be named in the Feb. 8 edition of Let’s Play Hockey. Both awards are sponsored by Let’s Play Hockey and the Minnesota Wild.


In addition to on-ice talent, criteria for the Ms. Hockey Award include academics, community/extracurricular activities, citizenship and coachability. Past winners: 2017 Grace Zumwinkle (Breck), 2016 Presley Norby (Minnetonka), 2015 Taylor Williamson (Edina), 2014 Sydney Baldwin (Minnetonka), 2013 Dani Cameranesi (Blake), 2012 Hannah Brandt (Hill-Murray), 2011 Karley Sylvester (Warroad), 2010 Bethany Brausen (Roseville), 2009 Becky Kortum (Hopkins), 2008 Sarah Erickson (Bemidji), 2007 Katharine Chute (Blake), 2006 Allie Thunstrom (North St. Paul), 2005 Gigi Marvin (Warroad), 2004 Erica McKenzie (Hastings), 2003 Andrea Nichols (Hibbing/Chisholm), 2002 Ashley Albrecht (South St. Paul), 2001 Renee Curtin (Roseville), 2000 Krissy Wendell (Park Center), 1999 Ronda Curtin (Roseville), 1998 Laura Slominski (Burnsville), 1997 Annamarie Holmes (Apple Valley), 1996 Winny Brodt (Roseville).


Other awards that will be presented at the banquet include the Let’s Play Hockey Senior Goalie of the Year Award, which goes to the top senior goalie in girls’ high school hockey, as well as the Minnesota Girls High School Hockey Coaches Association’s Coaches of the Year, and All-State and All-Academic Award winners for the 2017-18 season.


To order tickets for the 2018 Ms. Hockey Awards Banquet, call Beth Kurtt at 612-306-1935.