skip navigation

Breanna Blesi Named 2017 LPH Senior Goalie Of The Year

By LPH/Morris, 03/12/17, 1:30PM CDT


Breanna Blesi of Maple Grove named

Let’s Play Hockey Senior Goalie of the Year


Breanna Blesi of Maple Grove High School has been named the Let’s Play Hockey Senior Goalie of the Year, the newspaper announced today at the annual Ms. Hockey Awards Banquet. The award is presented annually to the top Minnesota senior goalie in girls’ high school hockey.


A mainstay in the Maple Grove nets since her freshman season, Blesi helped the Crimson to the No. 5 ranking in Class AA and a 22-5-1 overall record. During the regular season, Blesi posted a 1.18 goals-against average (eighth in the state), a .943 save percentage (8th) and five shutouts (14th).


Splitting time with Senior Goalie of the Year finalist Coco Francis, Blesi had a 9-3-1 record and allowed more than two goals in only one game during the season. In her 15 starts, Blesi allowed a total of 17 goals. She will play college hockey at Wisconsin.


“Breanna has impeccable technical skills as a goalie and is a ‘battle’ goalie,” Maple Grove head coach Amber Hegland said. “She has extremely quick feet and moves laterally flawlessly. These skill sets make her hard to beat and able to make big saves. In addition, her compete skills and work ethic are second-to-none.”


Away from hockey, Blesi ranks first in her class with a 4.0 GPA and is a four-time member of the academic all-state team. She’s an avid youth hockey volunteer, serving as a goalie coach in the Osseo/Maple Grove Hockey Association. She also volunteers her time as a group leader for ninth graders at Lord of Life Lutheran Church in Maple Grove.


“Breanna is driven and pays attention to the littlest of details,” Hegland said. “She strives for perfection and will continue to push herself to higher levels daily. This is one of the ways she has led and leads her teammates. She is committed to an honest work ethic. She also cares about her teammates and verbally compliments their successes often. Breanna holds herself and teammates to high standards while striving improve daily.”


The Senior Goalie of the Year Award is based on nominations from high school coaches and is selected based on votes from a panel of high school coaches and Division I and III women’s college coaches. The award is based on the following criteria: academics, community/ extracurricular activities, citizenship, coachability and, of course, on-ice performance.


The other finalists for the award were Coco Francis of Maple Grove, Anna Goldstein of Edina, Elizabeth Kubicek of Minnetonka and Emma Polusny of Mound Westonka.


This is the 19th year of the LPH Goalie of the Year award. Previous winners: Jenna Brenneman of Breck (2016), Frances Marshall of Thief River Falls (2015), Erin O’Neil of Hopkins (2014), Sydney Rossman of Minnetonka (2013), Erika Allen of Roseville (2012), Julie Friend of Minnetonka (2011), Kallie Billadeau of Hopkins (2010) Laura Bellamy of Duluth (2009), Alyssa Grogan of Eagan (2008), Ashley Nixon of Blaine (2007), Alannah McCready of Centennial (2006), Johanna Ellison of Cloquet/Esko/Carlton (2005), Emily Brookshaw of Hill-Murray (2004), Robin Doepke of Chaska (2003), Amber Hasbargen of Warroad (2002), Jody Horak of Blaine (2001), Shari Vogt of River Lakes (2000) and Katie Beauduy of Blaine (1999).


The award is sponsored by Let’s Play Hockey and the Minnesota Wild.

Breanna Blesi - Maple Grove HS

Breanna Blesi - Maple Grove HS