skip navigation


09/04/2013, 11:00am CDT

Eight individuals selected to first MGHCA HOF Class

Girl’s High School Hockey Coaches to start Hall of Fame !

With girl’s hockey starting its 20th year, the MGHCA (Mn. Girls Hockey Coaches Assn.) has announced the beginning of the girls hockey coaches Hall of Fame.  It has been several years in the planning,and will honor those individuals that have been pioneers in organizing girls hockey, along with coaches and administrators who have made significant contributions to the initiation, promotion, and growth of girl’s high school hockey in the State of Minnesota over the past 20 years and beyond!  The MGHCA has a website that lists the criteria, and information needed to make a nomination, and each year a selection committee will choose from a list of candidates, the individuals it deems worthy of being a Hall of Fame member.

In this the inaugural class of the Hall of Fame, eight have been selected for entry.  They  will be inducted at a banquet in their honor on Friday evening, October 11, 2013, at the Schwan Center in Blaine MN.  This is also the weekend of the annual girl’s high school coaches Fall Clinic.  The eight selections for the first class in the Hall of Fame will include the following.

Dr. Bob May.  He was a visionary in girls hockey who started a team in the late 70’s called the Minnesota Checkers.  His vision kept girl’s hockey alive when it certainly could have died.

Jane Ring, who started playing in her forties, and has played and promoted girl’s and women’s hockey ever since.  She also sponsors and supports a scholarship every year for two worthy high school girls, to help continue their education and hockey at the collegiate level.

Two individuals, Charlie Stryker and Brano Stankovsky were long time successful coaches and administrators in the MGHCA, and both have passed away in recent years, leaving enormous shoes to fill in the organization, and at the schools they successfully coached.  Charlie Stryker coached at SPA/Visitation, and was our Executive Secretary for 5 years.  Brano Stankovsky was the coach at Blake School winning a state title in three of the four tournament appearances for his team.  He was also a president of our coaches association.

Chuck Scanlon, a seventeen year girl’s hockey coach at Apple Valley, won the first ever Girl’s State Tournament in the ‘94-’95 inaugural season.  His teams made two more tournament appearances, winning the title again in 1998, and finishing third in 2003. He finished his career with 217 wins in girl’s hockey.

Dave Palmquist, the coach at South St Paul is the longest active coach in girl’s high school hockey, entering his 20th season. His record of State Championships, State Tournament appearances, and overall wins is at the top of the list in girl’s high school hockey.  Coach of the year twice, he also serves as a TV analyst at the Boy’s State Hockey Tournament.

Tim Morris has been coaching almost from the beginning of girls hockey, with several state tournament appearances and 2 championships to his credit. As a head coach at Totino Grace from 1995-2001, and Eden Prairie from 2001-2011 he has a 294-126-15 record.  He has been Executive Secretary for our Coaches Association since 2003-04, and has helped bring our organization to the level it is at today.

Tom Maeckelbergh has nearly 14 years of involvement as a head coach, and assistant.  He has chaired the selection of the coaches All-State Team for 10 years, he has either directed or been involved in virtually every program ever run by the MGHCA over a period of 14 years.  He will volunteer for any activity that will help make girl’s hockey better.  His commitment to the sport is unparalleled

Guest speaker for the banquet will be former Gopher Women’s Hockey Coach Laura Halldorson.  In addition to her fantastic career as Gopher Coach, she played on the Minnesota Checkers team that helped create the girl’s and women’s programs that we have today.

For ticket information, and banquet details, check the Minnesota Girls Hockey Coaches Association website ( on or after September 10, 2013.

Tag(s): Featured