skip navigation

2024 Senior Goalie Semi-Finalists Named

By LPH, 02/11/24, 10:30PM CST


Very deep pool of senior goalies to vie for first Jori Jones Award

Sauk Centre, MN - Let's Play Hockey announced the 10 semifinalists for the Jori Jones Award, given to the state's most outstanding senior goaltender.  The award was recently named in honor of Jones, a 2022 semifinalist for the Senior Goalie of the Year Award who died last summer from injuries sustained in an automobile accident.

This year's semifinalists have played in more than 11,549 minutes. Collectively they have won 144 games and faced 6,207 shots and made 5,802 saves for a save percentage of .935. They have also combined for 60 shutouts. Seven of the 10 goalies are committed to play college hockey.

"This is one of the deepest goalie classes we have seen in some time," said Let's Play Hockey Publisher Bryan Zollman. "Whoever wins the Jori Jones Award is very deserving as all 10 of these goalies have not just had outstanding years, but great careers."

The Jori Jones Award is based on nominations from high school coaches and is selected based on votes from a panel of high school and college coaches.  The award is based on the following criteria: academics, community/extracurricular activities, citizenship, coachability and, of course, on-ice performance.

This year's semifinalists include Claire Bronson (Lakeville South), Kaitlin Groess (Centennial/Spring Lake Park), Olivia Hansen (Prior Lake), Ana Jyrkas (Fergus Falls), Gretchen Paaverud (Anoka), Kayla Simonson (Delano/Rockford), Dani Strom (Maple Grove), Tegan Swanson (Eden Prairie), Lily Timmons (Stillwater), and Grace Zahn (Hill-Murray).

The 10 semifinalists will be narrowed down to five finalists with the winner being announced at the Ms. Hockey Banquet Feb. 25 at the Saint Paul RiverCentre. Banquet tickets will go on sale Monday, Feb. 11. The award is sponsored by Let's Play Hockey, the Minnesota Wild, Tradition Companies, and the Minnesota Girls Hockey Coaches Association.

Last year's winner was Uma Corniea of Edina.  Previous winners include: Maggie Malecha of Northfield (2022), Brynne DuLac of Minnetonka (2021), Anna LaRose of North Wright County (2020), Calla Frank of White Bear Lake (2019), Alexa Dobchuk of Eden Prairie (2018), Breanna Blesi of Maple Grove (2017), Jenna Brenneman of Breck (2016), Frances Marshall of Thief River Falls (2015), Erin O'Neil of Hopkins (2014), Sydney Rossman of Minnetonka (2013), Erika Allen of Roseville (2012), Julie Friend of Minnetonka (2011), Kallie Billadeau of Hopkins (2010), Laura Bellamy of Duluth (2009), Alyssa Grogan of Eagan (2008), Ashley Nixon of Blaine (2007), Alannah McCready of Centennial (2006), Johanna Ellison of Cloquet/Esko/Carlton (2005), Emily Brookshaw of Hill-Murray (2004), Robin Doepke of Chaska (2003), Amber Hasbargen of Warroad (2002), Jody Horak of Blaine (2001), Shari Vogt of River Lakes (2000) and Katie Beauduy of Blaine (1999).

Here is a closer look at this year’s 10 semifinalists for the Jori Jones Award:

Player   Team   Games Minutes W-L-T GAA SOG Saves SV % SHO College  
Claire Bronson Lakeville South 26 1371:18:00 20-3-3 0.93 631 606 0.960 12 Undecided  
Kaitlin Groess Centennial/SLP 24 1219:31:00 21-1-2 1.00 634 610 0.962 7 Bemidji State
Olivia Hansen Prior Lake   26 1333:18:00 13-12-1 2.68 718 648 0.903 4 Wisconsin-River Falls
Ana Jyrkas   Fergus Falls   25 1296:03:00 13-11-1 1.69 517 474 0.917 8 North Dakota/Golf
Gretchen Paaverud Anoka   18 898:51:00 8-9-1 2.38 635 593 0.934 1 Concordia University
Kayla Simonson Delano/Rockford 21 1088:10:00 12-9-0 2.20 796 749 0.941 3 Augsburg  
Dani Strom   Maple Grove 23 1119:18:00 16-7-0 1.32 535 506 0.946 8 St. Thomas  
Tegan Swanson Eden Prairie   20 1049:32:00 9-10-1 2.43 670 620 0.925 4 Wisconsin-Eau Claire
Lily Timmons Stillwater   21 1090:32:00 13-8-0 2.15 527 481 0.913 8 Undecided  
Grace Zhan   Hill-Murray   23 1082:53:00 19-3-1 1.37 544 515 0.947 5 Dartmouth