skip navigation

MGHCA HOF and Awards Banquet Recap

By tgm, 10/15/21, 10:00AM CDT


Several awards were presented on Friday, October 8th at the MGHCA awards banquet

The MGHCA presented several awards on Friday, October 8th at the Hall of Fame & Awards Banquet hosted at the Welcome Center on the National Sports Center Campus.

Hall of Fame & Awards Banquet

The MGHCA was pleased to present awards to our four new Hall of Fame Inductees, the 2020-21 Head and Assistant Coaches of the Year and our Brano Stankovsky award recipient. It was a fantastic evening especially listening to the Hall of Fame inductees relate some of their experiences during their hockey coaching journey. Food was provided by Creative Catering in Little Canada. The keynote speaker for the evening was Joel Johnson, the new Head Women's Hockey Coach at the University of St Thomas and the 2022 USA Women's Olympic Head Hockey Coach.


Tom Kulenkamp 2021

Cheryl Mechelke - 2021 Brano Stankovsky Award Recipient

Bob Sherry 2020-21 Class A ACOY

Class A ACOY - Henry Sibley HS

Barb Halbrehder, Bill Halbrehder, Tom Kulenkamp, Patrick Furlong

Barb Halrehder, Bill Halbrehder

Patrick Furlong 2021

Claire Goldsmith & Bob Kuehl 2020-21 Class A COY

Class A  CO-COY - Mound Westonka HS

Also receiving awards but unable to attend the awards banquet:

  • Molly Arola, Alexandria HS - Class AA Head Coach of the Year
  • Paul Grafstrom, Roseau HS - Class AA Assistant Coach of the Year